Regular Marijuana Users May Be Skinnier, Have Better Blood Sugar Control: Study


http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/05/15/marijuana-users-skinnier-blood-sugar-control_n_3280053.html

People who regularly smoke marijuana may have better control of their blood sugar and may be skinnier than non-marijuana users, according to a new study.

The research, published in the American Journal of Medicine, shows that people who reported regularly using marijuana had a lower risk of insulin resistance and had lower fasting insulin levels, compared with people who never used marijuana. Researchers also found an association between using marijuana and having a smaller waist circumference and higher levels of “good” HDL cholesterol, compared with non-users. The research was conducted by scientists from Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, the University of Nebraska and the Harvard School of Public Health.

“It is possible that the inverse association in fasting insulin levels and insulin resistance seen among current marijuana users could be in part due to changes in usage patterns among those with a diagnosis of diabetes,” like if people with diabetes are advised to quit smoking, study researcher Dr. Elizabeth Penner, M.D., M.P.H., said in a statement. “However, after we excluded those subjects with a diagnosis of diabetes mellitus, the associations between marijuana use” and insulin, cholesterol and waist circumference still remained true.

Though marijuana is illegal in much of the country (it’s the most commonly used illegal drug here in the U.S., according to the National Institute on Drug Abuse), medical marijuana is currently legal in 19 states to help alleviate symptoms from treatments such as chemotherapy, researchers noted.

But it’s important to note that research shows marijuana can detrimentally affect daily life by affecting mental health, raising likelihood of dropping out of school, and even hurting IQ levels when used during adolescence, according to NIDA. In addition, because marijuana is frequently smoked, the smoke can lead to breathing problems and respiratory disease.

The new study included data from 4,657 people who were part of the National Health and Nutrition Survey from 2005 to 2010. Among all the study participants, 1,975 had used marijuana before but weren’t current users, and 579 were current marijuana users. There were 2,103 people who had never used it.

Researchers found that the associations between marijuana use and insulin and cholesterol levels were especially pronounced among the current users — they had 16 percent lower fasting insulin levels, compared with never-users — but not as pronounced among those who had used marijuana before, but weren’t current users.

And even though researchers acknowledged that people who use marijuana consume more calories than non-users, they still found links between smaller waist circumference and marijuana use. However, they said they were not sure why this association exists.

Recently, MyHealthNewsDaily reported on a study from Columbia University researchers showing that a pill form of marijuana — which contains the drug’s active ingredient — may actually be better at relieving pain than the smoked form. Plus, the pill may be less prone to abuse since fewer people in the study said that they thought the effects were pleasurable, according to MyHealthNewsDaily.

Tags: , , ,

23 Responses to “Regular Marijuana Users May Be Skinnier, Have Better Blood Sugar Control: Study”

  1. Marylou Says:

    What’s up, I desire to subscribe for this weblog to get most recent updates, therefore where can i do it please help.

  2. paint sprayer reviews Says:

    I am curious to find out what blog system you are utilizing?
    I’m having some small security issues with my latest website and I would like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have any solutions?

    • atasteofcreole Says:

      I use wordpress. I’m not sure you’re looking for. I’ve only been blogging for a short time. I opened the site a couple of years ago, but just recently learned how to use it in the last few. Technology is moving so fast!

  3. Jerilyn Says:

    Simply desire to say your article is as astonishing.
    The clarity in your publish is simply spectacular
    and that i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine along with your permission allow me to snatch your RSS feed to stay up to date with coming near near post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

    • atasteofcreole Says:

      While I didn’t write the piece, if you cite the original source which I have the original link posted at the top of the article. Please share the information to keep everyone informed and updated!

  4. gratis sexdating Says:

    U have a great weblog over here. I just wanna thank you for all the interesting stuff on it. I’ll follow your site if you keep up the good work!

  5. asthmasymptomshq.org Says:

    Remarkable! Its actually awesome paragraph, I have got much clear idea concerning from this
    article.

  6. food for weight loss Says:

    Currently it looks like Movable Type is the best blogging platform out there
    right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  7. eating-for-energy.com Says:

    Hello to every body, it’s my first visit of this webpage; this webpage carries remarkable and truly fine data for readers.

  8. Melvin Says:

    It’s remarkable in support of me to have a site, which is useful for my knowledge. thanks admin

  9. Denice Says:

    Useful information. Fortunate me I found your website accidentally,
    and I’m stunned why this coincidence didn’t took place earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  10. hemorrhoid information Says:

    Hello, I would like to subscribe for this web site to take most recent updates, so where can i do it please help out.

    • atasteofcreole Says:

      There is a subscription link on the right sidebar. Under Blogroll I also have a link for those who’d love to help by donating to Paypal for my site. Thank you!

  11. how can i get medical insurance for free Says:

    Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for
    a blog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast offered bright clear idea

  12. eating-for-energy.com Says:

    My spouse and I stumbled over here from
    a different page and thought I might as well check things out.
    I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to finding out about your web page again.

  13. eating-for-energy.com Says:

    Thanks designed for sharing such a nice thinking, article is nice, thats why i have read it entirely

  14. on line graduate program Says:

    Wow, that’s what I was searching for, what a information! present here at this blog, thanks admin of this website.

  15. lower back pain right side Says:

    Hi there, yup this article is actually pleasant
    and I have learned lot of things from it concerning blogging.
    thanks.

  16. socialcomputing.trojanifsc.net Says:

    What’s up, every time i used to check weblog posts here early in the break of day, for the reason that i love to gain knowledge of more and more.

  17. acid reflux remedies Says:

    bookmarked!!, I really like your web site!

Leave a comment