Fast-food workers stage protests for higher wages


http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/business/2013/05/14/food-workers-strikes/2159047/

Fast-food workers are staging unprecedented one-day walkouts in cities across the country. Milwaukee workers plan to join Wednesday as nearly 200 demand $15 an hour and the right to unionize.

A recent wave of strikes by fast-food employees in four cities is expected to spread to Milwaukee Wednesday as demands for higher pay shake up an industry previously insulated from worker unrest.

Front-line, limited-service restaurant workers, a category that includes fast-food employees, earned a nationwide average $9.05 an hour in March, up 2.7% the past three years, according to the Bureau of Labor Statistics. By contrast, the pay of all private-sector non-management employees is up 5.7% in that period.

Adjusting for inflation, fast-food wages have fallen 36 cents an hour since 2010, even as the industry has raked in record profits.

Saying they can’t live on such meager pay, the workers are demanding $15 an hour and the right to form unions without fear of reprisal. Although all U.S. workers legally have that freedom, many who try to organize are fired or punished with reduced hours, says Dorian Warren, an associate professor of political science and public affairs at Columbia University.

Some restaurants have said they’ll trim the hours of employees this year to get below the 30-hour threshold that will make them pay health insurance, starting next January, under the new health law

Until recently, there had been no efforts to unionize fast-food employees because the industry has been beset by high turnover and largely populated by teens and young adults working in part-time or seasonal jobs. The recession and sluggish recovery, however, has given rise to a new class of adult fast-food worker who can’t find other employment.

“It’s a job for adults supporting families,” says Tsedeye Gebreselassie, staff attorney for the National Employment Law Project.

The ranks of limited-service restaurant workers have increased 11.5% to 3.8 million since the job market hit bottom in February 2010, nearly twice the rate of all private employees.

Since early April, fast-food workers in New York, Chicago, St. Louis and Detroit have staged one-day walkouts and rallies. In Milwaukee,180 workers at outlets such as McDonald’s, Burger King, Taco Bell and KFC are expected to walk off the job.

“We’re inspired by what’s happening in other cities,” says Jennifer Epps-Addison, an official at Citizen Action of Wisconsin, one of the groups coordinating the protest, which unlike the others, will include some retail workers.

Milwaukee Burger King employee Tessie Harrell says she earned the state minimum wage of $7.25 an hour from 2008 through 2012, even after she was promoted to shift supervisor in 2011. Last year, she got a raise to $8.25 an hour. But she says that’s not enough to pay the $650 monthly rent on her two-bedroom apartment and support her six children.

“I can’t afford to buy my kids shoes,” says Harrell, 34, who gets food stamps and $150 a month from her mother. “There’s no way I should be struggling to make ends meet.”

In a statement, Burger King said its restaurants “have provided an entry point into the workforce for millions of Americans,” including many franchisees. Burger King and McDonald’s say their wages are in line with the rest of the fast-food industry.

Job actions in other cities already have made an impact. In New York, half the 70 restaurants affected by walkouts in November and early April have boosted wages from 25 cents to up to $2 an hour, says Jonathan Westin, head of New York Communities for Change.

In St. Louis, local clergy accompanied striking workers back to their jobs last week to ensure they wouldn’t be fired, says Martin Rafanan, head of the local workers’ campaign, “St. Louis Can’t Survive on $7.35.”

Workers, he says, have begun to feel empowered. “We are much stronger,” he says.

Tags: , , , , , ,

51 Responses to “Fast-food workers stage protests for higher wages”

  1. cougar dating Says:

    You are so interesting! I don’t suppose I’ve read a single thing like this before.
    So great to find someone with a few genuine thoughts on this issue.
    Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This web site is something that is
    required on the web, someone with some originality!

  2. decorating Says:

    First off I would like to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts before writing. I have had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints? Kudos!

    • atasteofcreole Says:

      While I haven’t any posted of my personal articles yet, I do use researching and outlining. In other words, I consume other articles that may be my citations then jot down notes that I’d like to highlight. By the time I’m ready to commit to paper, my mind in the place needed to write.

  3. Percy Schauman Says:

    Thank you for this article post, it was just what I was searching for. There is so much information here, so I thank you so much for enlightening my mind.

  4. memphis storage Says:

    Hurrah! Finally I got a web site from where I be capable of in fact get useful data regarding my study and knowledge.

  5. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ScFvd7Deva0 Says:

    My brother recommended I may like this website. He was entirely right.
    This submit actually made my day. You cann’t consider simply how a lot time I had spent for this information! Thank you!

  6. how to get a car loan with no job Says:

    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The words in your article seem to be running
    off the screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon.

    Kudos

  7. snurl.com/26jd3xf Says:

    Hi Dear, are you in fact visiting this site on a regular basis, if so then you will absolutely take good knowledge.

  8. http://www.kaijao.com Says:

    Hey! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone 3gs! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the excellent work!

  9. b3AiOm Says:

    Fantastic post will probably be posting this on my blog today keep up the great work.

  10. www.youtube.com/watch?v=FKmQ_KzB5Y4 Says:

    I was able to find good advice from your content.

  11. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FZOuC8FraM0 Says:

    For hottest information you have to pay a visit internet and on world-wide-web I found this web page as a best website for latest updates.

  12. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ddcKJDTQ7zI Says:

    Hi colleagues, its wonderful article about educationand fully defined, keep it up all the
    time.

  13. storage rental Says:

    Great information. Lucky me I found your site by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve bookmarked it for later!

  14. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=caSEY6ykNKw Says:

    It is not my first time to pay a quick visit this web
    page, i am visiting this website dailly and get fastidious data from here every day.

  15. back surgery Says:

    Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.
    I will remember to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back
    someday. I want to encourage you to continue your great job, have a nice weekend!

  16. binary options trading system Says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about this,
    like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the
    message home a bit, but instead of that, this is excellent blog.
    An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

  17. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N7sSaZ4qPQ4 Says:

    I wanted to thank you for this wonderful read!! I certainly enjoyed every
    bit of it. I have got you book-marked to look at new stuff you post…

  18. cedar finance Says:

    Wow, this piece of writing is good, my sister is analyzing these things, therefore I am going to let
    know her.

  19. www.youtube.com/watch?v=TKufcjstams Says:

    I’m curious to find out what blog system you’re working with?
    I’m experiencing some small security problems with my latest site and I would like to find something more secure. Do you have any recommendations?

  20. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JvHtc6p4seE Says:

    This is a topic which is near to my heart..
    . Take care! Where are your contact details though?

  21. www.youtube.com/watch?v=NoOduKV90hg Says:

    Have you ever thought about creating an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss and would really
    like to have you share some stories/information. I know my readers would enjoy your work.
    If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e-mail.

  22. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BlwW8-iwjKY Says:

    Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice at the
    same time as you amend your web site, how can i subscribe for a
    weblog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit familiar of this your broadcast provided
    brilliant clear idea

  23. www.youtube.com/watch?v=XIh-XSHfUtA Says:

    Can you tell us more about this? I’d want to find out some additional information.

  24. cedar finance trading Says:

    I really like it when individuals get together and share
    thoughts. Great website, continue the good
    work!

  25. Julius Says:

    It’s very simple to find out any matter on net as compared to books, as I found this post at this website.

  26. trade binary options Says:

    Very good article! We are linking to this particularly great post on our site.

    Keep up the great writing.

  27. how make money online Says:

    What’s up Dear, are you genuinely visiting this site on a regular basis, if so after that you will definitely obtain good knowledge.

  28. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OIMlEFygcak Says:

    Hello, this weekend is fastidious designed for me, since this
    time i am reading this fantastic educational article here at my home.

  29. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uw6v_3nV_co Says:

    After going over a handful of the blog articles on your
    web page, I honestly appreciate your way of writing a blog.
    I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back
    soon. Please visit my website as well and tell me your opinion.

  30. how to make money fast and easy Says:

    I think the admin of this web site is really working hard in favor of his website,
    as here every data is quality based data.

  31. clickbank affiliate marketing Says:

    WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching
    for start online business

  32. www.youtube.com/watch?v=vtYosCpRxY4 Says:

    whoah this weblog is magnificent i like reading your
    posts. Stay up the good work! You understand, lots of persons are
    searching around for this info, you can aid them greatly.

  33. how to make a lot of money from home Says:

    Appreciation to my father who informed me regarding
    this website, this weblog is in fact remarkable.

  34. binary options strategy Says:

    We’re a group of volunteers and opening a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done an
    impressive job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  35. homepage Says:

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A couple of my blog readers have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any advice to help fix this issue?

  36. cedar financial Says:

    Your style is so unique in comparison to other
    people I’ve read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you’ve got
    the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this
    site.

  37. social security benefits Says:

    Quality content is the main to attract the visitors to pay a
    quick visit the site, that’s what this site is providing.

Leave a comment